Visit our shop Join BD View forums

Your shopping basket
is currently empty.


British dressage board

Each of the nine British Dressage (BD) board directors is passionate about dressage and they give their time and expertise without receiving any payment other than expenses. The directors do the job because they have the chance to shape the future of dressage and give something back to the sport which they have enjoyed so much and want others to enjoy, too.

After BD was founded in 1998, it was decided that the directors should each have specific responsibilities to cover all the different areas of the sport. The reason for this is to have people with specialist skills in charge.

A rotation system with a maximum term of service was also introduced in 1998. Each term is four years and directors have to retire at the end of the second term, allowing them to serve a maximum of eight years. However, as all the board members started at the same time, this has been staggered, so that there is continuity and we don’t end up with the whole board made up of new directors.

As a BD member, you can stand for election. The directors are always on the lookout for potential future directors. An advert will appear in British Dressage magazine and on the website before the annual general meeting (AGM), giving details of the position becoming vacant, asking for nominations and someone to second it. Applications are then subject to a Nominations Committee and, if approved, are then put forward for ratification at the AGM if the nominee is unchallenged. If there is more than one candidate, an election will be held in the form of a postal/on-line vote.

The board directors are: (click on the role for the role description and name for a profile of the post holder)

Chairman  Linda Whetstone
Sport Operations Director  Simon Bates
Judges Director  Peter Storr
Finance Director  Caroline Godfrey
Para Director  Julie Frizzell
International Teams Director  Judy Harvey
Business Development Director  Suzanne Homewood
Training Director  Paul Hayler
BD Youth Director  Claire Moir

More information on what's expected from our Board members can be found in the Board Director compentencies document.

Linda Whetstone can be contacted via email here or to get in touch with any of the other Directors, please email Angela Green.

Each director is served by a technical committee of volunteers who are selected for their expertise within a particular field to support the relevant area of BD.  Each committee acts within a set Terms of Reference. When vacancies arise on committees, we advertise them via our BD vancancies page and social media feeds.  

Our eight regions are then supported by a volunteer committee headed up by a Chairman.  Visit your region's page on the website to see who your representatives are.

2018 BD audited accounts and annual report - click here
Memorandum and Articles of Association (as of 20/09/18) - click here

President and vice-president

In 2007, two new voluntary positions were created - that of president and vice-president - to bring BD in line with the British Show Jumping Association and British Eventing. This gives BD valuable figureheads and allows their experience and knowledge to be used.

The Jennie Loriston-Clarke  is the president, while former chairman, Desi Dillingham, is vice-president.

The president and honorary vice-presidents are not board members. The president is elected by the directors to hold office for four years and is only eligible fore re-election for one further period of four years. The board can choose to have up to eight vice-presidents.