Visit our shop Join BD View forums

Your shopping basket
is currently empty.


Young Professionals Award finalists announced

last updated on October 23, 2014 14:41

Young Professionals Award finalists announced

Over the course of last week, top dressage professionals, Richard Davison, Dan Sherriff and Hannah & Becky Moody hosted and judged the three training days for this year’s prestigious Young Professionals Award.

The high-profile award received record entrant numbers which were then whittled down to just 24 semi-finalists, who each attended one of the three training days held at a host’s yard. After an introduction from the hosts, the semi-finalists were treated to a yard tour (including risk assessment) before mounting their rides for a 40-minute training session.

The morning session also included a one-to-one discussion with the co-ordinators – BYRDS director, Janet Horswill and former Pony selector, Rachel Hillier – whilst the afternoon consisted of another training session with the host, however this time unmounted, concentrating on other equestrian skills.

One rider from each day was selected to go through to the final with three wildcards given once all three training days were complete. Once again, the standard of applicant reached an all-time high and at Dan Sherriff’s training day, the competition proved to be too strong as two of the three wild cards went to riders contesting there. Below is the list of semi-finalists, along with those selected for the final – which will be held at the Talland School of Equitation (2 March 2015).

If you would like to find out more about the Young Professionals Award, including the criteria for application in 2015, click here.



Host: Richard Davison at Combridge Farm (6 October)


Ryan Todd


Elizabeth Allen

Tyler Bradshaw

Lauren Darby

Saska Ingham

Georgina Swinglehurst

Devan Woodgate

Michelle Wright


Host: Dan Sherriff at Bayford Hall Farm (8 October)


Emily Harris

Joshua Hill (wildcard)

Rob Trobridge (wildcard)


Emma Barnes

Emily Blount

Megan Clough

Benjamin Smith

Charlotte Ward


Host: Hannah & Becky Moody at Far Broad Oak


Greg Sims

Victoria Maw (wildcard)


Paddy Cush

Lorna Hurst

Gemma Moss

Katie Richards

Olivia Towers

Emily Watts