Visit our shop Join BD View forums

Your shopping basket
is currently empty.


BD Awards 2017

last updated on November 29, 2017 16:52

BD Awards 2017

Amongst two phenomenal days of training at the 2017 BD National Convention supported by Harrison Clark Rickerbys (25 – 26 November) a handful of this year’s top performing riders and successful individuals elsewhere in the sport were presented with awards to mark their achievements.

Peter Storr (pictured) and Michele Assouline were each awarded with the prestigious British Dressage Medal of Honour for outstanding contribution to the sport. Both Peter and Michele have been instrumental contributors to the success of Team GB whilst giving a lot back to the sport be it in riding, training or judging. Congratulations to both.

Annual trophies were presented as follows:

Worshipful Company of Saddlers – Head collars
Kindly donated by the Worshipful Company of Saddlers, the voucher for a saddle is given to the highest overall placed Para rider from all five classes at the LeMieux National Championships.
Awarded to: Mari Durward Akhurst (Grade 1), Izzy Palmer (Garde 4), Gillian Brown (Grade 5) as well as Amanda Shirtcliffe (Grade 3) and Georgie Wilson (Grade 2) who sadly couldn’t make the presentation.

Lucan Trophy
Kindly donated by Mrs Kathryn Heappey, the Lucan Trophy goes to the highest placed British Pony rider in the Individual test at the European Championships, this year help in Kaposvar, Hungary.
Awarded to: Anya Kolleth (16) who was ninth with 72.41% with Phoebe Peters’ SL Lucci.

Maureen Newell Trophy
Presented in memory of Maureen Newall who was Chief Pony Selector from 1998 – 2003, this trophy is awarded to the pony and rider combination gaining the highest percentage in their first international trip abroad together in the Pony Team test.
Awarded to: Anya Kolleth (16) with Phoebe Peters’ SL Lucci who gained 71.66% in Nieuw en Sint Joosland.

BDSC Pony Trophy
Kindly donated by the BDSC Committee, this trophy is awarded to the Pony rider who, in the Selectors’ opinion, has produced the best performances at Premier League shows during 2017.
Awarded to: Annabella Pidgeley (13) for her results with Sarah Pidgeley’s Farbenfroh, Cognac IX and FB Gangster.

Trendell Trophy
Kindly donated by long term supporter Mrs Christine Trendell, this trophy is awarded to the most successful Junior rider in the Team test at the Junior European Championships, this year held in Roosendaal, Holland.
Awarded to: Emily Bradshaw (18) who scored 67.91% with Sue Bradshaw’s Remarkable.

Medal of Honour
Awarded to: Peter Storr and Michele Assouline.

UKCC Level 4 Certifcate of Coaching Excellence
Awarded to: Joanna Swain, Janet Horswill and Harry Payne.

Tyrell Trophy
Kindly donated by Lady Caroline Tyrrell, the trophy goes to the highest placed British-bred mare competing at the National Championships in 2017.
Awarded to: Sarah Oppenheimer’s Headmore Davina who placed third in the Top Spec Medium Silver Championships with Dannie Morgan.

Pablo Picasso Trophy
Kindly donated by Penny and Fiona Bigwood, the trophy was commissioned to commemorate Fiona’s Junior/Young Rider horse, Pablo Picasso who made five European Championship appearances. On their behalf, it’s awarded to the highest placed British Young Rider in the team test at the European Championships which were held this year in Roosendaal, Holland.
Awarded to: Charlotte Fry (21) with her own and Anne Van Olsts’ Dark Legend who were fifth with 71.55%.

Richmond Trophy
Kindly donated by the Duke and Duchess of Richmond, this trophy is awarded to the highest placed Junior / Young Rider in the Freestyle at the European Championships each year.
Awarded to: Charlotte Fry (21) with her own and Anne Van Olsts’ Dark Legend who were sixth with 74.37%.

Graduate Trophy
Kindly donated by Rita and Kate Butling, the Graduate Trophy is presented to the rider in their last year of U21s who, in the Selectors’ opinion, has made the most progress in 2017.
Awarded to: Charlotte Fry (21).

AASE Certificate
Awarded to: Jasmine Harding-Heitzman, Joanna Thurman-Baker and Josie Kent.