Visit our shop Join BD View forums

Your shopping basket
is currently empty.

Box_560_top

British combinations are ready in Rotterdam

last updated on August 18, 2019 23:08

British combinations are ready in Rotterdam

All four British horses are safely through today’s Horse Inspection and looked a picture thanks to the stunning efforts of our grooms Alan, Lucy, Steph and Claire. Emma & Jill Blundell’s Mount St John Freestyle, Ann Cory, Lady Anne Evans and Carl Hester’s Hawtins Delicato, Gareth & Rebecca Hughes and Julia Hornig’s Classic Briolinca and Lottie Fry and Van Olst Horses’ Dark Legend all sailed through without issue.

One of the favourites, Bella Rose, the ride of Isabell Werth, showed she’s feeling well ahead of the competition with some unscheduled above the ground moves but was passed fit and well ahead helping Germany to defend their team gold won two years ago in Gothenburg.

The British riders then had chance to have a close inspection of the impressive main arena which also went smoothly with each horse running through a few Grand Prix essentials in between the showers.

The para horses have also arrived and are settled into their stables with the riders arriving late this afternoon. The news in is that Nicki Greenhill will now ride her second horse, King Edward I as her first ride, Betty Boo, hasn’t recovered adequately from being cast in her stable.

In the draw this evening, Britain came out of the hat in a favourable 14th out 15 teams with hosts the Netherlands last to go. The Germans are 12th with Sweden 13th making it a very competitive last few riders in each cycle.

Performance Manager Caroline Griffith named the team order as debutante Lottie Fry as our pathfinder with ‘Darkie’ at 11:40 CET/10:40 BST and then Gareth Hughes and Briolinca ending day two at 15:50 CET/14:50 BST.

Then on Tuesday 20 August it’s Carl Hester and ‘Del’ in action at 11:00 CET/10:00 BST before Charlotte Dujardin hopefully rides for a medal at 14:50 CET/13:50 BST with Freestyle.

The GP action will be on FEI TV by subscription but it’s worth checking the FEI You Tube Channel or FEI Dressage Facebook page too.

Follow us on social media for updates, scores and quotes from the riders.

Full start times and results – click here

Full British TV coverage:

BBC
Thursday 22 August
9am – Showjumping team competition day one (Red Button live coverage)

Friday 23 August
10am – Showjumping team competition day one (Red Button repeat)
2pm – Showjumping team competition day two (Red Button live coverage)

Saturday 24 August
2pm– Dressage Freestyle individual competition (Red Button live coverage)

Sunday 25 August
10am – Dressage Freestyle individual competition (Red Button repeat)
2pm – Showjumping individual competition (Red Button live coverage)

Monday 26 August
10am – Showjumping individual competition (Red Button repeat)
1pm – Highlights (BBC2)

Click here to access Red Button live coverage
*timings and discipline coverage may be subject to change

Horse & Country TV


Saturday 24 August – 8pm – Dressage Grand Prix team competition highlights
Tuesday 27 August – 8pm Dressage Grand Prix Special individual competition highlights
Wednesday 28 August – 8pm – Showjumping team competition highlights
Thursday 29 August – 8pm – Dressage Freestyle individual competition highlights
Friday 30 August 8pm – Showjumping individual competition highlights

 



Box_560_bottom