Visit our shop Join BD View forums

Your shopping basket
is currently empty.


National Convention

Get ready for a brand new look National Convention for 2019, in partnership with Harrison Clark Rickerbys!

This year’s event will take place at new host venue Addington Equestrian on 23 – 24 November for an exciting, fresh-look Convention, which will include:

  • Sessions specifically targeted at different levels, from Prelim to Grand Prix
  • A focus on modern cross training methods, pole work and effective exercises that you can take home and apply in your day to day training
  • Three standout hosts will take to the stage to share their expertise: British dressage legends Chris Bartle and Michael Eilberg, and Danish dressage star Daniel Bachmann Andersen for his first training convention on British soil

We’ll be taking you on a journey from the training arena to halt, immobility, salute, all with the health and happiness of both human and equine athletes at the forefront of the coaching approach. 

Book your place

This year’s tickets have been frozen at 2018 prices, plus they now include an event programme! Early bird day and weekend tickets are now available, starting from just £45*, with member discounts available:


*Please note booking fees apply to all ticket types. 

What’s on

This year’s event runs across two days, with each day covering different elements and levels:


On Saturday we’ll be opening the day with another brand new feature for the National Convention as Prelim level is included for the very first time. Aimed at those competing, or looking to start competing, in Quest, Area Festivals and Prelim to Medium level competition, Saturday will focus on improving you and your horse at home to progress positively towards achieving competition and training goals. 


On Sunday we turn our attention towards the advanced levels from Medium to Grand Prix, including Young Horse and FEI Youth rider categories. Whether you’re competing at these levels already, working towards them, or simply just want to watch some advanced level dressage riders, Sunday has something for everyone!

A varied approach to training will remain a key feature of the day as we uncover how a balanced and diverse routine can achieve those marginal gains vital for reaching the very top of the sport.

The hosts

Daniel Bachmann Andersen

Currently ranked seventh in the FEI Dressage World Rankings, Danish rising star Daniel is one of Europe’s most exciting riders on his way to the very top of the sport. 

Head rider at Blue Hors stud in Randboel, Daniel is guided by American based Lars Petersen, Blue Hors Sport Director Ulrik Sorensen and Danish team trainer Nathalie zu Sayn-Wittgenstein. 

Christopher Bartle 

Chris is the current British Eventing Team’s High Performance Coach. For 16 years up to 2016, he was National Coach to the German Olympic Three Day Event Team - Winners of Team Silver and Individual Gold at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Team and Individual Gold medals at the London Olympics in 2012 and at the Beijing Olympics in 2008. 

In the saddle, Chris achieved sixth place individually at the 1984 LA Olympic Games on board former eventer Wily Trout. This outstanding achievement would stand for decades as the highest placing at an Olympic Games for a British dressage rider until the arrival of Charlotte Dujardin and Valegro in 2012. 

Michael Eilberg

Hailing from prolific dynasty of dressage stars, Michael is a much sought after rider and trainer with an established presence on both the national and international stages. In his successful career, Michael made history on board the talented Woodlander Farouche, the first mare to win the FEI World Breeding Championships for Young Dressage Horses in 2011 and 2012, and was a key part of the silver medal winning team at the World Equestrian Games in 2014.

Ride at the 2019 National Convention!

Take part in our competition to win a demo rider session at the National Convention! We're looking for a combination competing at Prelim level or above, with a tick by the following criteria:

- Riders to be 16 years old or over
- Consistently scoring 68% or above at the level you're competing at
- Exposure to a championship or big competition atmosphere is favourable, i.e. Area Festival or Quest Championships

Enter our demo rider competition here.

Read the competition announcement here.