Associated Championships FAQs

Not sure what to expect from the Cavago Associated Championships? Find out more here!

Laura Watson & Sir Arthur II

Do I need to register for the Cavago Associated Championships?

Please register your intention to qualify for the Cavago Associated Championships in 2024, please follow the link below to register.


Do I need to be a BD member?

Yes! To qualify for all championships, riders and horses may hold Club, Full (competing) or Trial memberships, or compete as BD Community members with a class ticket.

To compete at the Championship, riders and horses at Intro level must hold Club membership and all riders and horses at Prelim and above must hold Full (competing) membership and registration.


Do I need to be a member of my partner association?

Joining is no longer compulsory. However, they offer some great benefits - please visit their website to see what else they can offer you!

Associated Championship Levels Partner Association
Arab Horse Intro to Medium Arab Horse Society
British Native Pony Intro to Prix St Georges Various
Coloured Horse and Pony Intro to Medium CHAPS
Draught Horse Intro to Medium Various 
Forces Equine Into to Medium Forces Equine
GB PRE Prelim to Prix St Georges GB PRE
Lusitano  Prelim to Prix St Georges Lusitano Breed Society of Great Britain
RoR Intro to Advanced Medium RoR
TGCA Intro to Medium TGCA
Thoroughbred Intro to Advanced Medium Weatherbys or other
Veteran Horse  Intro to Prix St Georges Veteran Horse Society
Veteran Rider Intro to Prix St Georges Riders over 55

What do I need to do to qualify?

To qualify for the Cavago Associated Championships, all you need to achieve is three scores over 60% within the level you wish to qualify for in accordance with the BD rules.

Scores can come from regular BD competition or Team or My Quest competitions from 1 January 2024 to 31 August 2024. (You cannot use Area Festivals, Combined Training, Freestyle to Music, Regionals, Under 25 Championship, Winter or National Championship scores.)

Can I compete at different levels?

Yes! You can compete at a maximum of two consecutive levels at each championship.

For example, you could compete Prelim and Novice at the Side Saddle Championship and Novice and Elementary at the Draught Championship, but not all three at Side Saddle.

What am I eligible for?

Take a look at the eligibility tables or flow charts in the current BD Members’ Handbook!


Riders must compete in the section that they were eligible for as per the eligibility tables in the Members' Handbook at the end of the qualification period (31 August).

Previous Championship winners are not allowed to compete at the same level/championship - apart from Veteran Horses (all levels) and all championships at Medium or above. 

If you won your section but not the overall Championship, you can compete at the same level/championship again.

Which tests will be used at the Associated Championships?

The Championships will continue to use the current tests for 2024.

  • Introductory - B & C
  • Preliminary - 17a & 19
  • Novice - 23 & 37a
  • Elementary - 53 & 59
  • Medium - 73 & 75
  • Advanced Medium - 91 & 98