2018 BD annual trophies

  • Written By: British Dressage
  • Published: Fri, 30 Nov 2018 11:24 GMT

Amongst two inspirational days of training at the 2018 BD National Convention supported by Harrison Clark Rickerbys (24 – 25 November) a handful of this year’s top performing riders and successful individuals in the sport were presented with awards to mark their achievements.

Former Chairman Penny Pollard was presented with the prestigious British Dressage Medal of Honour for outstanding contribution to the sport after serving as a volunteer for over a decade on the Board. Thank you Penny for your unstinting support and remarkable dedication to the sport.

Annual trophies were presented as follows:

Worshipful Company of Saddlers – head collars
Kindly donated by the Worshipful Company of Saddlers, head collars were presented to the winners of the Summer Gold Para Championshiops at the LeMieux National Championships by Prime Warden James Welsh.
Awarded to: Mari Durward Akhurst (Grade 1), Nicola Naylor (Garde 4), Charlotte Cundall(Grade 5), Amanda Shirtcliffe (Grade 3) and Georgia Wilson (Grade 2). 

Lucan Trophy
Kindly donated by Mrs Kathryn Heappey, the Lucan Trophy goes to the highest placed British Pony rider in the Individual test at the European Championships, this year help in Kaposvar, Hungary.
Awarded to: Sophie Taylor (16) who was 20th with 69.40% with her own George Clooney BS.

Maureen Newell Trophy
Presented in memory of Maureen Newall who was Chief Pony Selector from 1998 – 2003, this trophy is awarded to the pony and rider combination gaining the highest percentage in their first international trip abroad together in the Pony Team test.
Awarded to: Lily Laughton who rode Ode to Shannon into sixth place in the team test at Deauville CDIP with 65.04%.

BDSC Pony Trophy
Kindly donated by the BDSC Committee, this trophy is awarded to the Pony rider who, in the Selectors’ opinion, has produced the best performances at Premier League shows during 2017.
Awarded to: Sophie Taylor with George Clooney BS

Trendell Trophy
Kindly donated by long term supporter Mrs Christine Trendell, this trophy is awarded to the most successful Junior rider in the Team test at the Junior European Championships, this year held in Roosendaal, Holland. 
Awarded to: Jessica McConkey with Lady Gaga who was 22nd with 68.87% in Fontainbleau, France.

Medal of Honour
Awarded to: Penny Pollard.

Tyrell Trophy
Kindly donated by Lady Caroline Tyrrell, the trophy goes to the highest placed British-bred mare competing at the National Championships in 2017. 
Awarded to: Hawtins San Floriana who is jointly owned by Charlotte Dujardin and Carl Hester (pictured receiving the tophy from BD Judges Director, Peter Storr), and bred by Judith Davis at the Hawtins Stud by the stallion San Amour out of her great mare Hawtins Floriana, our winner was partnered by Charlotte to win both the TopSpec Medium Championship and the Shearwater Six Year Old Young Horse title. 

Pablo Picasso Trophy
Kindly donated by Penny and Fiona Bigwood, the trophy was commissioned to commemorate Fiona’s Junior/Young Rider horse, Pablo Picasso who made five European Championship appearances. On their behalf, it’s awarded to the highest placed British Young Rider in the team test at the European Championships which were held this year in Roosendaal, Holland. 
Awarded to: Charlotte Dicker with Sabatini who was tenth with 71.11% in Fontainebleau.

Richmond Trophy
Kindly donated by the Duke and Duchess of Richmond, this trophy is awarded to the highest placed Junior / Young Rider in the Freestyle at the European Championships each year.
Awarded to: Lewis Carrier with Diego V who was tenth with 71.07% in Fontainebleau.

Graduate Trophy
Kindly donated by Rita and Kate Butling, the Graduate Trophy is presented to the rider in their last year of U21s who, in the Selectors’ opinion, has made the most progress in 2017.
Awarded to: Alex Harrison who earned selection to the Young Rider team with his promising youngster Diamond Hill in just their second season together.