National Development Programme for Coaching Excellence cohort 2023/25

  • Written By: British Dressage
  • Published: Thu, 30 Nov 2023 10:48

British Dressage is delighted to announce that the National Development Programme for Coaching Excellence for 2023-2025 will start on the 11 and 12 December with coaches selected from British Showjumping, British Dressage, British Eventing, Pony Club, British Horse Society and British Reining.

The National Development Programme for Coaching Excellence (NDPCE) is aimed at those working with adults and young people who participate in equestrian sport for competitive recreation purposes and aims to recognise the importance of high-performing coaches working with grass roots riders.

All coaches selected for the programme hold their Equestrian Level 3 coaching certificate or equivalent and have been selected for their passion in sustaining and growing participation within equestrian sport as well as their attitude to learning and the importance of continuous professional and personal development. They will embark on the cross-discipline programme which is supported by British Equestrian (BEF) and Sport England.

Coaching and Coach Development Consultant Nicky Fuller commented; "I am truly excited at the prospect of working alongside a cohort of coaches that are motivated to pursue their personal and professional development, not knowing where it might take them. Through the interview process, coaches demonstrated a curiosity for learning and they will be involved in shaping the programme with help from world class facilitators from; dramatic arts, academia, business and other sports.

"We know from previous cohorts that the programme has the power to be transformational in supporting coach learning. It is refreshing to see investment in coaches to become high-performing at growing and sustaining participation at grass roots, as this is a highly skilled and demanding coaching role where the industry needs expertise and excellence.”

Selected coaches for 2023:

British Dressage

  • Sarah Payne
  • Alison Timmins
  • Ellen Berchner-Nolan
  • Emily Hedger
  • Tina Burrow
  • Sarah-Jayne Bowers

British Showjumping

  • Andrew Walker
  • Gemma Stoate
  • Katy Ford
  • Caroline Connor

British Eventing

  • Charlotte Armstrong
  • Jeanette Brakewell
  • Julia Knight-Jones
  • Maddy Moffett
  • William Murray

British Horse Society

  • Sarah Healing
  • Kira Richer
  • Sophie Dickinson
  • Hayley Godwin

Pony Club

  • Catherine Cawdron
  • Jonathan Pett

British Reining

  • Pauline Norton